All-Time Best

A Giant-Sized Epic

Moderators: MayorOfLongview, FredProgGH, Sam Gamgee, Bnielsen

Razors edge

All-Time Best

Post by Razors edge » Fri Aug 19, 2005 11:17 am

About a week ago I was on Prog-Archives and reading some polls. One in particular which caught my eye was the "5Best keyboard players. Out of about 35 posts Fred Shendel's name was never mentioned( or I just didn't see it) Now, I have a background in musical theory and can read music. Before my injury I studied and played Jazz and Classical. I'm sure on this site a "best of" list has been comprised. If I may, I would like to add my 5 best of; 1-Bill Evans,2-Chic Corea, 3-Ahmaad Jammal,4-Fred Shendel,5-Keith Emerson. Fred is a magnificent player in every way, how he was not included befuddles me. Bill Evans has been the major influence in my musical life. Once again, a subjective opinion. Follow up with ratings and comments. Thanks.
RazorsEdge--man of peace and love.

Bnielsen
Hammerhead
Hammerhead

Post by Bnielsen » Fri Aug 19, 2005 11:33 am

They have to keep spraying down the case of the hammond and moogs when fred plays them too long, he's on FIRE! =)
er, seriously- I love sitting down at they keys and playing some GH. Some of it is just wicked hard, especially the chromatic paorts
Brian Nielsen
GH Merch '09 - GH Roadie '05 - GH NEARFest Choir '03

FredProgGH
Hammerhead
Hammerhead

Post by FredProgGH » Fri Aug 19, 2005 1:15 pm

Well, thanks very much!

Honestly, I just don't have enough hours in the day to practice to where I would be back at a technical level like Chic, Bill E. or Emo. Those guys are on another level. So in a real contest of BEST players taken literally it doesn't hurt my feelings not to rank. Now as far as most enjoyable players I'll happily take my place alongside guys like John Evans and Eddie Jobson if people want me to *lol*